The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center UTHealth Houston Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences

> FACULTY MEETING September 19, 2024 – 2:00 PM

> > MINUTES

Shane Cunha, Chair; Aballay, Abe, Akbani, Akhbardeh, Alcantara, Alcorn, Amit, Azhdarinia, Present: Bartholomeusz, Bednar, Carmon, Chandra, Chang, Chauhan, Chehab, Han Chen, Lisa Chen, Yang Chen, Xiaodong Cheng, Cole, Dabaghian, Daniel-MacDougall, Debeb, DeLay, Dessauer, Dunbar, S Ekmekcioglu, Evans, Fan, Farach-Carson, R. Fuentes, Fornage, Fru, Garsin, Giridharan, Gomez-Manzano, Gorfe, Gottlieb, Hawkins, Haymaker, Heidelberger, Horton, Bo Hu, Jian Hu, Ishak, M Jacobs, A. Jain, Jayaraman, K Jones, H. Kaplan, Eunhee Kim, Gab Kim, Hyun-Eui Kim, JungHwan Kim, Michael Kim, Klegerman, Konovalova, Koay, Krishnan, Kwartler, Byron Lee, Dung-Fang Lee, Yi-Ping Li, Bin Liu, Lorenz, Zhen Lu, Dershan Luo, Keran Ma, Mangahas, Margolin, Marrelli, Marshak, K. McBride, McCullough, T. McDonnell, R. Miller, Marrelli, R. Morales, Alanna Morrison, Moura, Nagayama, Narkar, Nishino, Nitsch, Olson, Pan, Peeler, Pollard-Larkin, Post, Prakash, E. Richie, J Rong, A. Reuben, Salinas, Seymour, Shadding, Shete, Shouval, Siddik, Sirisaengtaksin, Judith Smith, Soundararajan, Stafford, Stavoe, Brian Taylor, Paige Taylor, Qingchun Tong, Tsvetkov, Urayama, van Hoof, V. Vasquez, Vega, Waxham, Jennifer Walker, Bin Wang, Hongyu Wang, Jun Wang, Linghua Wang, Wenyi Wang, T Walters, Wenzel, KK Wong, Danielle Wu, Jiaqian Wu, Jie Xu, Kai Xu, Yamal, Hongyuan Yang, Liuqing Yang, C Yin, M. James You, Xiaoyi Yuan, Sheng Zhang, Di Zhao, Michael Zhu.

Staff/Administration: Agurcia-Parker, Carter, Elliott, Lademora, Lau, Leonard, Manning, Mansour, McConnel, Murphy, Ogunseye, Orlando, Perez, Price, Rademacher, Ruiz, Snow, Spitzenberger, Valladolid, Weinberg, Williamson

- 1. Nomination of candidate(s) for 2024-2025 President: Dr. Jian Hu, PhD The faculty voted unanimously to elect Dr. Shane Cunha as the Graduate Faculty President
- Nomination of candidates (s) for 2024-2025 Vice President/President-Elect of the Graduate Faculty: Dr. Jian Hu The faculty voted unanimously to elect Dr. Francesca Cole as Graduate Faculty Vice President/President-Elect for 2024-2025.
- 3. Dr. Jian Hua passed the Faculty President's gavel to Shane Cunha, PhD
- 4. Dean's Report Alejandro Aballay, PhD
 - a. Recognition of Outgoing Program Directors
 - b. Recognition of New GSBS Staff
 - Shelli Manning, Communications Manager

- Elizabeth Murphy, Communications Assistant
- Kehinde Ogunseye, PhD, Senior Academic Advisor •
- c. Presentation of the D. Dudley and Judy White Oldham Faculty Award 2024 Candelaria Gomez-Manzano, MD
- d. Drs. Giuseppe Colusurdo (UTHealth) and Peter Pisters (MD Anderson) signed a formal agreement between the two institutions. A Steering Committee has been formed, with the first meeting scheduled for the week of September 25th.
- e. Recruitment is underway for an Associate Dean for Academic Affairs, a 50%-time position. The successful candidate will be based at MD Anderson and will collaborate closely with Dr. Jeffrey Frost, the current Associate Dean of Academic Affairs. This position will provide key leadership and support for academic affairs within the institution.
- f. Faculty Development Workshops Presented by Dr. Peggy Hsieh (UT Health)
 - **Effective Teaching = Effective Learning** October 15, 2024
 - GSBS Large Classroom BSRB S3.8371
 - Choosing When to Advise, Coach, or Mentor November 5, 2024 GSBS Large Classroom - BSRB S3.8371
- g. We congratulate Karen Weinberg, Associate Dean for Management, and Dr. Jeffrey Frost, Associate Dean of Academic and Faculty Affairs, on their appointments to permanent positions.
- 5. Tuition and Fees Karen Weinberg, MS
- 6. Admissions Report Cherilynn Shadding, PhD
 - a. Successful Orientation Week (August 19 28, 2024)
 - b. Increase in total number of PhD applications
- 7. Internal Review Committee Cherilynn Shadding, PhD
 - a. Recruiting faculty to join Internal Review Committee
- 8. GSBS Policy on Student Use of AI Elamir Wassim Chehab, PhD Web-based generative AI tools may be used by students but should not be used to upload proprietary or confidential information.
- 9. Proposed Amendment to GSBS Faculty Bylaw Elamir Wassim Chehab, PhD Approved Proposed Amendment of Bylaw 3.8 – Student Scholarship Committee
- 10. Vote on Chairs and New Members for 2024-2025 Standing Committees Natalie Sirisaengtaksin, PhD

The faculty voted unanimously to approve the slate of candidates as presented.

- 11. Standing Committee Reports Natalie Sirisaegntaksin
- 12. Old Business

No old business was discussed.

13. New Business

No new business was discussed.

The following reports were not presented at the meeting but were available on the GSBS website prior to the meeting:

Fall Reports on Standing Committees GSA Fall Report